2011 Alaska State Singles Racquetball Championships


The 2011 Alaska State Singles Racquetball Championships will take place April 6-9 (Wednesday – Saturday) at The Alaska Club – Midtown Out of town players MUST be able to play on THURSDAY NIGHT. Entry Fees: $50 members and $60 nonmembers for the first event; $15 for the second event; $25 for Juniors (18 yrs & under) for the first event. Juniors must play in a Junior division as their first event. All faxed entries must have credit card information or member number to be accepted. Fax entry to: (907) 561-2946. Players may enter in 1 skill level only and 2 events total. All players are required to be AARA Members and a $15 annual fee will be collected at the tournament desk for all nonmembers, Your membership will allow you to attend the AARA “End of Year” party Saturday night at Flori D’Italia Restaurant where along with GREAT FOOD & DRINK we will be inducting 2 individuals to the Alaska Racquetball “Hall of Fame”, present both Adult and Junior Sportsmanship awards, and give away a lot of door prizes.

Tournament Update

We have 60 players competing in 11 different divisions at this year’s Alaska State singles tournament, Remember play starts WEDNESDAY NIGHT and the tournament will finish on Saturday the last match is at 4pm. Most folks are playing in 2 events so that is going to make for a lot of matches, Please show up ready to play 30 minutes prior to your scheduled playing time this will help things move along smoothly. To ensure you get your proper size sweatshirt be sure to get checked in as early as possible.

Brandon Cuaresma leaps into the air as Jesse Keaveny shoots a backhand shot during their Men’s Open Semi-Final match. (Photo by Micah Weggel)


2011 Alaska State Singles “Open” Champions Michelle Roberts & Jesse Keaveny.
The Alaskan Racquetball season comes to an end with the 2011 Alaska State Singles Championships each year and it always seems to leave us wanting more, this year was no exception. Even though the total number of players was down at this year’s tournament the divisions were full of very competitive players who gave it their all vying for the coveted title “Alaska State Champion”. Michelle Roberts claimed her 7th Women’s Open title (Most by any Alaskan Woman) by defeating Robin Rodriguez while Jesse Keaveny was making a little history of his own becoming the first Alaskan Male to Win the Men’s “Open” title for the fourth consecutive year bringing his total to 5. In the last match of the season, Jesse Keaveny & Brandon Cuaresma went at it in the Men’s 25+ Final with both making some great shots and pushing each other HARD as they have so many times before with Jesse coming out on top 15-13, 15-12.



Women’s “Open” Singles
1st Place: Michelle Roberts
2nd Place: Robin Rodriguez
3rd Place: Lisa Hacker

Consolation: Theresa McSherry


Women’s “Open All-Age” Singles
1st Place: Robin Rodriguez
2nd Place: Lisa Hacker
3rd Place: Cecilia Hopper
Consolation: Danielle Smith


Jesse Keaveny gets ready to shoot as Tyler Scott looks on during the Men’s Open Final Match

Men’s “Open” Singles
1st Place: Jesse Keaveny
2nd Place: Tyler Scott
3rd Place: Jim Hage (Fairbanks)

Consolation: Harold Patterson


Men’s “Elite” Singles
1st Place: Kevin Bohan
2nd Place: Steve Maisey
3rd Place: Joel Lawrence

Consolation: Jed Kimber


Men’s “A” Singles (Round Robin)
1st Place: Jasper Jackson
2nd Place: Scott Pillans (Kodiak)
3rd Place: Chris Smole
4th Place: Wayne Oxford

5th Place: Jason Seagul


Men’s “B” Singles
1st Place: Corey Rogers
2nd Place: Liam Oberly
3rd Place: Ryan Thibault

Consolation: Chris Taylor


Men’s “C” (Round Robin)
1st Place: Randy O’Connor
2nd Place: Vladimir Novack
3rd Place: Trevor Davis

4th Place: Sterling Doner


Men’s “Open”25+ Singles
1st Place: Jesse Keaveny
2nd Place: Brandon Cuaresma
3rd Place: Lam Nguyen (Juneau)

Consolation: Jason Seagul


Men’s “Open”45+ Singles
1st Place: Jim Hage (Fairbanks)
2nd Place: Jeff Sandys
3rd Place: Mike Stassen

Consolation: Harold Patterson


Junior’s “12 & Under” Singles
1st Place: Nicholas Alvord
2nd Place: Hunter Adams
3rd Place: Caden Harding
4th Place: Kaleb Strawn
5th Place: Spencer Zidek
6th Place: Gabe Strawn

7th Place: Noa Pedro


Junior’s “18 & Under” Singles (Round Robin)
1st Place: Sterling Doner
2nd Place: Anthony Maldonado
3rd Place: Dillon Oberly
4th Place: Emma Pedro