presents the:






2010 Alaska State Doubles Championships

The 2010 Alaska State Doubles will take place at the Alaska Club Midtown February 11-14, 2010, Divisions will be offered to Women, Men, and Juniors of all SKILL Levels from Novice to Open including ELITE (Not listed in entry form) along with OPEN Age events starting at 24 & Under up to 65+, Mixed Doubles will also be played. Players are allowed to enter 1 Skill,
1 Age & 1 Mixed division for a total of 3 (The 3rd Event MUST be Mixed Doubles) if competing in three events no time conflicts can be honored. Entry Fees: $50 Alaska Club members and $60 nonmembers per participant for the first event; $15 for second/third event $25 for Juniors (18 yrs & under) for first event Juniors must play in a Junior division as their first event to receive this special price. Entry deadline: Applications must be turned in to The Alaska Club Midtown by 10pm on FRIDAY, February 5. No refunds will be given after the draw is posted. No team will be entered unless entries are received from both team members.

All tournament participants will be required to pay a $15 AARA membership fee. If you are a current United States Association of Racquetball (USAR) member then you will not need to pay another membership fee. Anyone in need of a partner in any division PLEASE Contact me ASAP and I’ll try to team you up with someone.

You may list one time conflict and we will do our best to accommodate. If we cannot schedule around your conflict, you will be notified prior to draw completion. If you DO-NOT list a conflict on your application, no changes will be made after the draw has been posted THANK YOU for your support.

OK, we ended up with 66 entries competing in 11 different divisions, In order not to combine divisions we ended up with quite a few Round Robin draws, so expect a lot of court time. The split on the Men’s Age event was at 45+.




Tournament Recap



Robert Bailey & Robby Gunther serving to Jesse Keaveny & Brandon Cuaresma
in the Men’s Open Final


66 Participants seeking the title of “Alaska State Champion” in 11 different divisions (6 of them Round Robins) made for both a competitive and Busy Tournament Weekend, especially if you played in multiple divisions. The Women’s Open had 6 teams this year and when the dust settled the team of Jackie Duran & Kelly Petree were crowned the champions with their win over Vicky Oberly & Cathrine Posey. In the Men’s Open the team of Brandon Cuaresma & Jesse Keaveny completed a mission that started after Winning the 2009 State Doubles Championships, By defeating (2) Robert Bailey & Robby Gunther 15-10, 15-4 in the Finals they remain undefeated for the season. The Win marks the 4th Men’s Open title these two have together (2010, 2009, 2005, 2003) along with the 2 other Jesse won with partner Jonathan Munger (2000, 2001). The AARA raised close to $200 for our “Special Juniors Event” drive, Thank You to everyone who donated.



2010 Alaska State Women’s Open Champions – Kelly Petree & Jackie Duran


Final Results:

Women’s “Open” Doubles

1st Place: Kelly Petree (Homer) & Jackie Duran
2nd Place: Vicky Oberly & Cathrine Posey
3rd Place: Robin Rodriguez & Kastle Sornson
Consolation: Minda Sines & Gina Strawn


Junior Doubles (Round Robin)

1st Place: Sterling Donor & Brayden Harding
2nd Place: Noa Pedro & Gabe Strawn
3rd Place: Cadan Harding & Kaleb Strawn


Men’s “Open” Doubles

1st Place: Brandon Cuaresma & Jesse Keaveny
2nd Place: Robert Bailey & Robby Gunther
3rd Place: Ryan Kofoid & Jimmy Stewart
Consolation: Jim Hage & Larry Lovell (Fairbanks)


Men’s “Elite” Doubles (Round Robin)

1st Place: Kevin Bohan & Wayne Oxford
2nd Place: Bill Hand Dan Reyes (Homer)


Men’s “A” Doubles (Round Robin)

1st Place: Rob Hegner & Aaron Yu
2nd Place: Don Roach & Brendan Scanlon (Fairbanks)
3rd Place: Tony Arturo & Greg Earl


Men’s “B” Doubles

1st Place: Glenn Cravez & Gary Zipkin
2nd Place: Mike Adams & Corey Rogers
3rd Place: Jake Austin & Nick Straka
Consolation: Eric Dubois & Peter Seiffert


Men’s “C” Doubles (Round Robin)

1st Place: Bactazarz & Elvys Delacruz
2nd Place: Dean Diama & Kevin Geary
3rd Place: De Lewis & Minda Sines


Men’s “Open” 25+ Doubles

1st Place: Ryan Kofoid & Robert Bailey
2nd Place: Robby Gunther & Jesse Keaveny
3rd Place: Ron Broyles & Harold Patterson
Consolation: Don Roach & Brendan Scanlon (Fairbanks)


Men’s “Open”40+ Doubles (Round Robin)

1st Place: Tom Boyle & Steve Deaton
2nd Place: Jim Hage & Larry Lovell (Fairbanks)
3rd Place: Fredrick Pedro & Ellis Walthour
4th Place: Dave Bohan & Christer Linden
5th Place: Tony Arturo & Greg Earl


Mixed “Open” Doubles

1st Place: Robin Rodriguez & Ellis Walthour
2nd Place: Vicky Oberly & Jesse Keaveny
3rd Place: Cecilia Hopper & Harold Patterson
Consolation: Kelly Petree & Dan Reyes (Homer)


Mixed “B/C” Doubles (Round Robin)

1st Place: Jackie Duran & Shane Marrufo
2nd Place: Minda Sines & Mike Adams
3rd Place: Jackie & Peter Seiffert



Tournament Director Tim Keaveny with the Ladies of the tournament.


View more photos from the tournament