2009 Alaska State Singles Racquetball Championships

The 2008 Alaska State Singles Racquetball Championships will take place April 2-5 at The Alaska Club – Midtown. Entry Fees: $50 members and $60 non-members for the first event; $15 for the second event; $25 for Juniors (18 yrs & under) for the first event. Juniors must play in a Junior division as their first event. All faxed entries must have credit card information or member number to be accepted. Fax entry to: (907) 561-2946. Players may enter in 1 skill level only and 2 events total. All players are required to be AARA Members and a $15 annual fee will be collected at the tournament desk for all non members, Your membership will allow you to attend the AARA “End of Year” party Saturday night at La Cabana Mexican Restaurant (Downtown) where along with GREAT FOOD & DRINK we will be inducting 4 individuals to the Alaska Racquetball “Hall of Fame”, present 2 Adults & 1 Junior Sportsmanship award, and give away a lot of door prizes. We are expecting players from Juneau, Kodiak, Fairbanks, Ketchikan, and the Valley so if at all possible we are asking players from out of town to try to make it to Anchorage by Thursday and be ready to play, This will make things a lot easier if you are planning to compete in 2 events.

1st round losers in the Men’s Open will drop down to “Elite” division and 2nd round losers drop the consolation round this will give all Open players a minimum of 3 matches.

We ended up with 81 players competing in 12 different divisions, Starting on Thursday made things VERY TIGHT we did our very best to accommodate all time conflicts that were requested on the entry forms If you did not list a conflict PLEASE don’t ask now. We have matches starting as early as 8am on both Saturday and Sunday and with our out of towners coming in to play we may play a little late Friday night, To help the tournament run as smoothly as possible please show up 30 minutes prior to scheduled time ready to play, Thank You for your cooperation and GOOD LUCK to everyone.




Tournament Recap



2009 Alaska State “Open” Champions
Jesse Keaveny & Janice Vosika


After winning the 2009 Alaska State Doubles Tournament together as a team Jesse Keaveny defeated his partner Brandon Cuaresma 9-15, 15-13, 11-5 to win the Alaska Men’s Open Singles Championship for the Second straight year. After losing game one Jesse had to fight back in game two to set up yet another tie-breaker by these two players who have competed numerous times against each other since their day’s as Junior players some twenty years ago. The Women’s open title went to Janice Vosika with a 15-11, 15-5 win over Robin Rodriguez. The tournament was held at the Alaska Club midtown and had players from Fairbanks, Juneau, Ketchikan, Kodiak, Homer, Wasilla, and Anchorage competing in twelve different divisions for the title of “Alaska State Champion”. This was the end of another Alaska Racquetball season which means once again we won’t be seeing as much of each other during the Spring and Summer season so until “Fall” rolls around everyone take care of yourself and enjoy the offseason, Congratulations to all the new Alaska State Champions.


Final Results:


Women’s “Open/A” Singles

1st Place: Janice Vosika
2nd Place: Robin Rodriguez
3rd Place: Kelly Inama (Homer)
Consolation: Ly Abbott (Homer)


Women’s “B/C” Singles

1st Place: Lisa Hacker (Wasilla)
2nd Place: Danielle Smith (Wasilla)
3rd Place: Gina Strawn
Consolation: Barbara Bernier


Women’s “All Age” Singles

1st Place: Kelly Inama (Homer)
2nd Place: Robin Rodriguez
3rd Place: Lisa Hacker (Wasilla)
Consolation: Danielle Smith (Wasilla)


Men’s “Open” Singles

1st Place: Jesse Keaveny
2nd Place: Brandon Cuaresma
3rd Place: Ryan Kofoid
Consolation: Jim Hage (Fairbanks)


Men’s “Elite” Singles

1st Place: Tom Hood
2nd Place: Keith Graham
3rd Place: Jed Kimber
Consolation: Harold Patterson


Men’s “A” Singles

1st Place: Scott Babos
2nd Place: Scott Pillans (Kodiak)
3rd Place: Jed Kimber
Consolation: Rob Hegner


Men’s “B” Singles

1st Place: Jason Olson (Wasilla)
2nd Place: Talwar Sunjay
3rd Place: Mike MarcAurele
Consolation: Prithuiraj Chavan


Men’s “C” Singles

1st Place: Steve Letourneau
2nd Place: Chris Taylor
3rd Place: Corey Rogers
Consolation: Randy O’Connor


Men’s “Open”25+ Singles

1st Place: Brandon Cuaresma
2nd Place: Ryan Kofoid
3rd Place: Jesse Keaveny
Consolation: Leon Ruotsalainen (Kodiak)


Men’s “Open”40+ Singles

1st Place: David Sivigliano (Fairbanks)
2nd Place: Harold Patterson
3rd Place: Christer Linden
Consolation: Larry Duran


Men’s “Open”50+ Singles

1st Place: Jim Hage (Fairbanks)
2nd Place: Christer Linden
3rd Place: Warren Bailey
Consolation: Mike Stassen


Men’s “Juniors 14 & Under” Singles (Round Robin)

1st Place: Devon Olson (Wasilla)
2nd Place: Barbara Bernier
3rd Place: Ray Eiley III
4th Place: Gunnar Raich
5th Place: Sterling Doner
6th Place: Jackson Brockway