Alaska State Racquetball Championships

The Alaska Athletic Club
April 5-9, 1989
Ellis Walthour defeats the number one seeded player Jimmy Lowe. Walthour won with a victory of 15-12, 12-15, 11-3. Lowe remarked that it kinda hurts to lose. “Here I am, I’ve won every tournament this season and I lose the state. Walthour said that Lowe would play his fast power game and I would have to concentrate on playing my game, slowing the pace down. As has been stated about Lowe is that he stands still about as often as boiling water.
Mens “Open” Singles
1st: Ellis Walthour def. Jimmy Lowe
15-12, 12-15, 11-3

Mens “A” Singles
1st: Paul Seyforth def. McAfee
10-15, 15-8, 11-8

Men’s “B” Singles
1st: Conrad def. Standaland
15-13, 15-13

Men’s “C” Singles
1st: Lawrence def. Chadwell

Men’s “19” Singles
1st: Curtis Webb def. Mark Hindle
15-11, 15-8

Men’s “25” Singles
1st: Jimmy Lowe def. Mike Seidl
15-8, 15-3

Men’s “30” Singles
1st: Ellis Walthour def. Jeff Sandys
15-5, 15-14

Men’s “35” Singles
1st: Steve Hamrick def. Ben Cuaresma
15-11, 9-15, 11-10

Men’s “40” Singles
1st: Ben Cuaresma def. Scott Dattan
15-11, 15-14

Men’s “50” Singles
1st: Dave Llewelyn won the round-robin draw

Women’s “Open” Singles
1st: Gail Ferguson def. Jackie Gopie (Fbks)
9-15, 15-3, 11-9

Women’s “A” Singles
1st: Diane Johnson def. Miller
15-14, 15-14

Women’s “B” Singles
1st: Carla Cuaresma def. Shirley Bishop
11-15, 15-13, 11-8

Women’s “C” Singles
1st: VanBrunt def. Stephanie Munger
15-13, 15-13

Women’s“25” Singles
1st: Kristi Flores (Fbks) def. Jackie Gopie (Fbks)
6-15, 15-3, 11-7

Women’s“30” Singles
1st: Jean Kizer def. Carla Cuaresma
15-11, 11-15, 11-6

Women’s“40” Singles
1st: Margaret Ibbotson def. Sue Speerstra
15-14, 15-15